Review: Only Daughter by Anna Snoekstra

onlydaughterIn this chilling psychological thriller, one woman’s dark past becomes another’s deadly future.

In 2003, sixteen-year-old Rebecca Winter disappeared. 
She’d been enjoying her teenage summer break: working at a fast-food restaurant, crushing on an older boy and shoplifting with her best friend. Mysteriously ominous things began to happen—blood in the bed, periods of blackouts, a feeling of being watched—though Bec remained oblivious of what was to come.
Eleven years later she is replaced.
A young woman, desperate after being arrested, claims to be the decade-missing Bec.
Soon the imposter is living Bec’s life. Sleeping in her bed. Hugging her mother and father. Learning her best friends’ names. Playing with her twin brothers.
But Bec’s welcoming family and enthusiastic friends are not quite as they seem. As the imposter dodges the detective investigating her case, she begins to delve into the life of the real Bec Winter—and soon realizes that whoever took Bec is still at large, and that she is in imminent danger.

Publisher: Mira (a Harlequin imprint)

Pages: 288

Will Be Released: September 20, 2016

~*~*~*~*~

Y’all, it takes a fantastic book like Only Daughter to bring me out of a book blogging hiatus that has lasted over a year. You’ll have to forgive me. I’ve been traveling the world (and not just the world of books like usual). Gosh, I’m such a nerd. I haven’t had much time and book blogging has unfortunately been put on the back burner.

Until this jewel. Continue reading

Advertisements

Waiting on Wednesday #13

img-thing-pink2Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event that is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine and spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

Gah, have I been a loser with posting content on this blog in the past couple weeks! I’m usually so on top of things, but school has seriously taken a hold of my life. Reading has taken the backseat, but I’m hoping that I can find time to start posting more content and reading more books as soon as possible. 🙂

And… that brings me to this week’s WoW pick! 🙂

Continue reading

Waiting on Wednesday #8

img-thing-pink2Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event that is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine and spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

It is that time of the week again, folks! This week I’m featuring a book that’s a bit different than YA Fiction, but one that I’m excited for nonetheless!

Continue reading

Review: The Winter People by Rebekah L. Purdy (DNF)

thewinterpeople500An engrossing, complex, romantic fantasy perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore or Maggie Stiefvater, set in a wholly unique world.

Salome Montgomery fears winter—the cold, the snow, the ice, but most of all, the frozen pond she fell through as a child. Haunted by the voices and images of the strange beings that pulled her to safety, she hasn’t forgotten their warning to “stay away.” For eleven years, she has avoided the winter woods, the pond, and the darkness that lurks nearby. But when failing health takes her grandparents to Arizona, she is left in charge of maintaining their estate. This includes the “special gifts” that must be left at the back of the property.
 


Salome discovers she’s a key player in a world she’s tried for years to avoid. At the center of this world is the strange and beautiful Nevin, who she finds trespassing on her family’s property. Cursed with dark secrets and knowledge of the creatures in the woods, his interactions with Salome take her life in a new direction. A direction where she’ll have to decide between her longtime crush Colton, who could cure her fear of winter. Or Nevin who, along with an appointed bodyguard, Gareth, protects her from the darkness that swirls in the snowy backdrop. An evil that, given the chance, will kill her.

PUBLISHER: Entangled Teen

PAGES: 320

Will Be Available: September 2, 2014

~*~*~*~*~

First of all, a huge thanks to Rebekah L. Purdy and Entangled Teen for giving me a free ARC of this book! I appreciate it so much, but, as always, the following review has not been influenced by my being given a free book. 🙂

To start off, I have a lot of feelings about this book. A lot. A whole ton. I’m sorry that this review is so sassy, but I need to vent about this one. So much potential, but it fell flat for me.

Since Salome (LOVE the name, btw) nearly drowned in a pond nearby her grandmother’s house, she’s been deathly afraid of Winter. If I had nearly drowned in a pond nearby my grandmother’s house when I was younger, I would probably be deathly afraid, too. When her grandparents leave town, Salome is put in charge of taking care of the grounds: ensuring that the property’s gates are closed at all times, checking on the plants, and stuffing little trinkets in this one tree (the usual, you know). One of the first days (if not the first) Salome meets a handsome, withdrawn stranger on her grandmother’s property. He says he’s a longtime friend of her grandmother (stranger danger, much? Gah, Salome! You’re killin’ me here). This is when the mysteries and questions start to really build up for Salome. Not to mention that Salome meets not one hottie, not two hotties, but three hotties. THREE HOTTIES. Can I repeat that? THREE. Holy flapjack pancakes! This ain’t a love triangle; this is more a love quadrangle for the masses. Hold onto your seat. Continue reading

Review: Here by Ella James

13490992Milo Mitchell’s life used to be charmed, but that was before her family dissolved, she went a little crazy, and her best friends started acting more like strangers. Spending Saturday morning in a treehouse with a stun gun for company and a herd of deer for friends is the only exciting thing in her life…until she shoots a fawn and finds her dart stuck in a guy.

Her gorgeous victim is dressed in a Brioni tux and armed with a hanky. He has no idea who or where he is. Afraid her dart caused his amnesia, Milo takes him in, names him Nick, and vows to help him solve his mystery. Soon the pair find Nick’s face in a newspaper obituary, and Nick beings to have strange, ethereal memories of Milo–who is sure she’s never met him. Suddenly Nick knows things he shouldn’t know and is doing things he shouldn’t do. When the Department of Defense shows up, Nick and Milo run–toward a shocking conclusion that could destroy both their worlds.

PUBLISHER: Barkley’s Books

PAGES: 210

~*~*~*~*~

First of all, I’d like to thank Mark My Words for the copy of this book! Y’all know that what follows is going to be an honest review and that free books do not influence my final opinion on a novel. Capisci?

You better believe that I did a whole lot of reconnaissance on this novel before I requested it. Why? Because Ella James primarily pens erotica novels. You see, not really my cup of tea. Here is Ella’s take YA Fiction. It was actually surprisingly clean! I’m not usually one to encourage someone to continue to write erotica, but, in this case, I sincerely feel like Ella James should stick to her erotica.

Continue reading

Book Tour: The Yankee Club by Michael Murphy & Giveaway

Yankee-Club-with-the-roseIn Michael Murphy’s action-packed Prohibition-era novel of suspense, a mystery writer returns to the bright lights and dark alleys of New York City—uncovering a criminal conspiracy of terrifying proportions.

In 1933, America is at a crossroads: Prohibition will soon be history, organized crime is rampant, and President Roosevelt promises to combat the Great Depression with a New Deal. In these uncertain times, former-Pinkerton-detective-turned-bestselling-author Jake Donovan is beckoned home to Manhattan. He has made good money as the creator of dashing gumshoe Blackie Doyle, but the price of success was Laura Wilson, the woman he left behind. Now a Broadway star, Laura is engaged to a millionaire banker—and waltzing into a dangerous trap.

Before Jake can win Laura back, he’s nearly killed—and his former partner is shot dead—after a visit to the Yankee Club, a speakeasy dive in their old Queens neighborhood. Suddenly Jake and Laura are plunged into a conspiracy that runs afoul of gangsters, sweeping from New York’s private clubs to the halls of corporate power and to the White House itself. Brushing shoulders with the likes of Dashiell Hammett, Cole Porter, and Babe Ruth, Jake struggles to expose an inconspicuous organization hidden in plain sight, one determined to undermine the president and change the country forever.

PUBLISHER: Alibi

PAGES: 280

Amazon | Books-A-Million | Barnes & Noble

~*~*~*~*~ Continue reading

Review: Betwixt by Tara Bray Smith

Betwixt

For three teenagers, dark mystery has always lurked at the corner of the eyes and the edge of sleep. Beautiful Morgan D’Amici wakes in her trailerpark home with dirt and blood under her fingernails. Paintings come alive under Ondine Mason’s violet-eyed gaze. Haunted runaway Nix Saint-Michael sees halos of light around people about to die.

At a secret summer rave in the woods, the three teenagers learn of their true, changeling nature and their uncertain, intertwined destinies. Riveting, unflinching, beautiful, Betwixt shows a magic as complex and challenging as any ordinary reality.

PUBLISHER: Poppy

PAGES: 496

~*~*~*~*~

I have to start this review by saying that this book was about as trippy as the cover. I’ve seen this book so many times in bookstores (it was published in 2009) and I’ve always wanted to read it! The cover is freakishly captivating and I was definitely drawn to the premise. When I spotted it in a Half-Price Books, I was ecstatic!

Unfortunately, this book really fell short of my expectations. This novel follows the lives of Continue reading