Review: Inherit the Stars by Tessa Elwood

25463009Three royal houses ruling three interplanetary systems are on the brink of collapse, and they must either ally together or tear each other apart in order for their people to survive.

Asa is the youngest daughter of the house of Fane, which has been fighting a devastating food and energy crisis for far too long. She thinks she can save her family’s livelihood by posing as her oldest sister in an arranged marriage with Eagle, the heir to the throne of the house of Westlet. The appearance of her mother, a traitor who defected to the house of Galton, adds fuel to the fire, while Asa also tries to save her sister Wren’s life . . . possibly from the hands of their own father.

But as Asa and Eagle forge a genuine bond, will secrets from the past and the urgent needs of their people in the present keep them divided?

Author Tessa Elwood’s debut series is an epic romance at heart, set against a mine field of political machinations, space adventure, and deep-seeded family loyalties.

PUBLISHER: Running Press Kids

PAGES: 304

Will Be Released: December 8, 2015

~*~*~*~*~

A huge thanks to the Running Press Kids and to Tessa Elwood for a free copy of this novel in exchange for my honest opinion.

To be completely honest, I requested this book awhile ago on Netgalley and I just found it on my Kindle. I had completely forgotten I had requested it–I’ve taken a rather long break from book blogging due to finals and stress levels–but, I decided to take a chance on this one.

About eight paragraphs in, I almost gave up on this book. Terrible, right? I don’t have a very high tolerance for choppy, flowery writing. Instead, I urged myself on to continue reading this novel. While I’m glad that I did finish this novel, I have several major problems with this novel. Continue reading

Review: Correlation by Mia Grace

Correlation  800 Cover Reveal and PromotionalWhen the past and the present collide…

Hailey Kent knows how she wants to spend the summer before her junior year in high school: hanging out at the pool with Jenna, her BFF; riding her new trail bike on Vermont’s country roads; and flirting with Jenna’s hot older brother, Cody.

Hailey’s plans are shattered when a post-graduation accident puts her brother into a coma. Feeling guilty for not stopping him from going out that night, she seeks solace in exploring an old house and its overgrown gardens.

A mysterious correlation of events propels her back in time to the Vietnam War era, where she realizes she can use her knowledge of one boy’s fate to save his life.

But first, Hailey needs to convince him of her sanity.

PUBLISHER: Red Adept Publishing

PAGES: 198

~*~*~*~*~

The publisher gave me a copy of this book to read and review (from BB). This has, in no way, altered my opinion of the book and what is written below is a 100% honest review.

This book was definitely not what I expected… in a good way! I love getting my hands on time travel books, and this one was no exception. I mean, time travel is nothing new to me. Every once in a while, I travel to the nearest Circle K (strange things are afoot) and rewind to the time of So-crates and Napoleon in the tradition of Bill and Ted. Just a normal day for me. No big. Continue reading

Review: Here by Ella James

13490992Milo Mitchell’s life used to be charmed, but that was before her family dissolved, she went a little crazy, and her best friends started acting more like strangers. Spending Saturday morning in a treehouse with a stun gun for company and a herd of deer for friends is the only exciting thing in her life…until she shoots a fawn and finds her dart stuck in a guy.

Her gorgeous victim is dressed in a Brioni tux and armed with a hanky. He has no idea who or where he is. Afraid her dart caused his amnesia, Milo takes him in, names him Nick, and vows to help him solve his mystery. Soon the pair find Nick’s face in a newspaper obituary, and Nick beings to have strange, ethereal memories of Milo–who is sure she’s never met him. Suddenly Nick knows things he shouldn’t know and is doing things he shouldn’t do. When the Department of Defense shows up, Nick and Milo run–toward a shocking conclusion that could destroy both their worlds.

PUBLISHER: Barkley’s Books

PAGES: 210

~*~*~*~*~

First of all, I’d like to thank Mark My Words for the copy of this book! Y’all know that what follows is going to be an honest review and that free books do not influence my final opinion on a novel. Capisci?

You better believe that I did a whole lot of reconnaissance on this novel before I requested it. Why? Because Ella James primarily pens erotica novels. You see, not really my cup of tea. Here is Ella’s take YA Fiction. It was actually surprisingly clean! I’m not usually one to encourage someone to continue to write erotica, but, in this case, I sincerely feel like Ella James should stick to her erotica.

Continue reading

Review: Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Obsidian_cover1600Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring… until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something… unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don’t kill him first, that is.

PUBLISHER: Entangled Teen

PAGES: 335

~*~*~*~*~

I’ve seen this book literally everywhere since I started book blogging half-a-year ago. I’ll be honest, at first I tuned this book out. The cover kind of freaked me out. Come on, people. The man has freakishly green eyes. Even worse, it’s one of those covers where the eyes follow you wherever you go. You know? I could be hiding underneath my bed and I could still look at Obsidian’s cover and Cover Daemon would be staring me down with those haunting eyes. Maybe it’s a personal thing. Continue reading

Review: Valentine Bell: The Golden Year by Rowan Maness

Valentine Bell (Medium)

In this enthralling science-fiction debut, a young girl learns that getting the best revenge takes more than secret powers—it takes luck.

Valentine Bell spends her days aboard the luxury cruise ship “The Heart of Io,” traveling back and forth between earth and beautiful, mysterious Vala, a planet where the jungle holds a universe-altering secret. Born with a scar that bestows luck upon anyone who touches it, Valentine remains unaware of her secret power. All she knows is that she seeks greater adventures that what life has provided for her.

She finds it in the form of Orion Sides. Orion recruits Valentine into his father’s gang of thugs and thieves who run the ship’s underworld. Aided by her de-facto dad, Tycho, and her best friend, Luke, Valentine realizes that Orion’s been using her powers to pull off a heist, and when a set of priceless jewels goes missing from the cabin of a powerful Ambassador, Valentine is sure she knows who’s taken them. Out for revenge, Valentine embarks upon a dangerous journey that takes her into the Valan jungle, spurred on by strange connections, greater adventures, and unraveling her own tangled history.

Rowan Maness’s stunning first novel invites readers into a dizzying world unlike any they’ve ever seen, and introduces a character whose journey will enchant anyone who has ever questioned their place in this world or any other.

PUBLISHER: Madison Square Books

PAGES: 210

~*~*~*~*~

The publisher gave me a copy of this book to read and review (from NetGalley). This has, in no way, altered my opinion of the book and what is written below is a 100% honest review.

Valentine Bell: The Golden Year centers around a newly-turned thirteen-year-old who lives aboard the largest luxury space ship, The Heart of Io. Valentine Bell is ready to step over the threshold and become a woman, show others what she is capable of, and perhaps gain the attention of the ship’s resident attractive bad boy, Orion Sides. Everything won’t go according to plan, however, because Valentine was born with Continue reading

Review: Shattered Veil (The Diatous Wars) by Tracy E. Banghart

cover40964-mediumWhen everything that defines you is stripped away, who do you become?
Selection
War has come to Atalanta, infecting its quiet villages and lush woodlands, igniting whispered worries in its glittering capital.
All across the dominion, young men are being Selected for Military and sent to the front lines…and eighteen-year-old Aris Haan’s childhood sweetheart is one of them.
Secrets
Pyralis Nekkos, Atalanta’s leader, has kept the truth from his people, that their dominion will fall…and much sooner than anyone could guess.
Galena Vadim, his reluctant ally, wishes she could forget their shared past…until her future seems to depend on it.
Sacrifice
For the boy she loves, Aris, a talented wingjet pilot, will give up everything – her home, her name, even her face…
…only to become the key to her dominion’s survival.

PUBLISHER: Self-Published

PAGES: 373

(book blurb and picture from Netgalley)

~*~*~*~*~

The publisher gave me a copy of this book to read and review (from NetGalley). This has, in no way, altered my opinion of the book and what is written below is a 100% honest review.

So, it may be considered cheating, but I looked up the reviews for this book before I started it. I just had to make sure that it was going to be good! It’s midterms time… I need a FABULOUS book to distract me from all of the emotional trauma… 😉

There is a set rule: No women may participate in the military. Aris Haan dares to defy this rule so that she can be with her Continue reading