Waiting on Wednesday #6

img-thing-pink2Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event that is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine and spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

There are a lot of books that I simply cannot wait for that are released in October so I’ll share some of them right here! October seems to be the jackpot for me. For some reason, these reads seem to be about teenage con artists. Read into that what you will… 😉

Continue reading

Advertisements

Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Need (but don’t own yet)

Top Ten Tuesday is a lovely original feature/weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week we’re talking about the books that we’d love to get our grubby little paws on, but, unfortunately, do not own yet. I don’t believe I’ll get to 10 this week, but I’ll try my best! 🙂 Continue reading

Review: The Winter People by Rebekah L. Purdy (DNF)

thewinterpeople500An engrossing, complex, romantic fantasy perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore or Maggie Stiefvater, set in a wholly unique world.

Salome Montgomery fears winter—the cold, the snow, the ice, but most of all, the frozen pond she fell through as a child. Haunted by the voices and images of the strange beings that pulled her to safety, she hasn’t forgotten their warning to “stay away.” For eleven years, she has avoided the winter woods, the pond, and the darkness that lurks nearby. But when failing health takes her grandparents to Arizona, she is left in charge of maintaining their estate. This includes the “special gifts” that must be left at the back of the property.
 


Salome discovers she’s a key player in a world she’s tried for years to avoid. At the center of this world is the strange and beautiful Nevin, who she finds trespassing on her family’s property. Cursed with dark secrets and knowledge of the creatures in the woods, his interactions with Salome take her life in a new direction. A direction where she’ll have to decide between her longtime crush Colton, who could cure her fear of winter. Or Nevin who, along with an appointed bodyguard, Gareth, protects her from the darkness that swirls in the snowy backdrop. An evil that, given the chance, will kill her.

PUBLISHER: Entangled Teen

PAGES: 320

Will Be Available: September 2, 2014

~*~*~*~*~

First of all, a huge thanks to Rebekah L. Purdy and Entangled Teen for giving me a free ARC of this book! I appreciate it so much, but, as always, the following review has not been influenced by my being given a free book. 🙂

To start off, I have a lot of feelings about this book. A lot. A whole ton. I’m sorry that this review is so sassy, but I need to vent about this one. So much potential, but it fell flat for me.

Since Salome (LOVE the name, btw) nearly drowned in a pond nearby her grandmother’s house, she’s been deathly afraid of Winter. If I had nearly drowned in a pond nearby my grandmother’s house when I was younger, I would probably be deathly afraid, too. When her grandparents leave town, Salome is put in charge of taking care of the grounds: ensuring that the property’s gates are closed at all times, checking on the plants, and stuffing little trinkets in this one tree (the usual, you know). One of the first days (if not the first) Salome meets a handsome, withdrawn stranger on her grandmother’s property. He says he’s a longtime friend of her grandmother (stranger danger, much? Gah, Salome! You’re killin’ me here). This is when the mysteries and questions start to really build up for Salome. Not to mention that Salome meets not one hottie, not two hotties, but three hotties. THREE HOTTIES. Can I repeat that? THREE. Holy flapjack pancakes! This ain’t a love triangle; this is more a love quadrangle for the masses. Hold onto your seat. Continue reading

Vlog Book Review: Being Audrey Hepburn by Mitchell Kriegman

19286549In Being Audrey Hepburn, Clarissa Explains It All-creator, Mitchell Kriegman, tells the story of a 19-year-old girl from Jersey who finds herself thrust into the world of socialites after being seen in Audrey Hepburn’s dress from the film Breakfast at Tiffany’s.

Lisbeth comes from a broken home in the land of tube tops, heavy eyeliner, frosted lip-gloss, juiceheads, hoop earrings and “the shore.” She has a circle of friends who have dedicated their teenage lives to relieve the world of all its alcohol one drink at a time.

Obsessed with everything Audrey Hepburn, Lisbeth is transformed when she secretly tries on Audrey’s iconic Givenchy. She becomes who she wants to be by pretending to be somebody she’s not and living among the young and privileged Manhattan elite. Soon she’s faced with choices that she would never imagine making – between who she’s become and who she once was.

In the tradition of The Nanny Diaries and The Devil Wears Prada, this is a coming of age story that all begins with that little black dress…

WILL BE RELEASED: September 2, 2014 Continue reading

Waiting on Wednesday #5

img-thing-pink2Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event that is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine and spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

I wasn’t really looking forward to this one, but now that I’ve received an ARC from the publisher… I’m very interested. Continue reading

Top Ten Tuesday: Books that people have urged me to read!

Top Ten Tuesday is a lovely original feature/weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week deals with books that I’ve been encouraged (threatened, by some) to read. When more than five people tell me to read a book, I usually don’t read it. And, then, years later, when I chose to finally pick said book up, I feel like banging my head against the wall because it is usually absolutely amazing. Think Hunger Games, The Maze Runner… Heard so much hype about them and I avoided them for so long. I don’t really know why?

Continue reading

Review: Correlation by Mia Grace

Correlation  800 Cover Reveal and PromotionalWhen the past and the present collide…

Hailey Kent knows how she wants to spend the summer before her junior year in high school: hanging out at the pool with Jenna, her BFF; riding her new trail bike on Vermont’s country roads; and flirting with Jenna’s hot older brother, Cody.

Hailey’s plans are shattered when a post-graduation accident puts her brother into a coma. Feeling guilty for not stopping him from going out that night, she seeks solace in exploring an old house and its overgrown gardens.

A mysterious correlation of events propels her back in time to the Vietnam War era, where she realizes she can use her knowledge of one boy’s fate to save his life.

But first, Hailey needs to convince him of her sanity.

PUBLISHER: Red Adept Publishing

PAGES: 198

~*~*~*~*~

The publisher gave me a copy of this book to read and review (from BB). This has, in no way, altered my opinion of the book and what is written below is a 100% honest review.

This book was definitely not what I expected… in a good way! I love getting my hands on time travel books, and this one was no exception. I mean, time travel is nothing new to me. Every once in a while, I travel to the nearest Circle K (strange things are afoot) and rewind to the time of So-crates and Napoleon in the tradition of Bill and Ted. Just a normal day for me. No big. Continue reading